Acknowledgements

Many colleagues have been generous in discussion, criticism and constructive suggestions. I particularly wish to thank Dr David Cebon, Mr Ken Wallace, Dr Amal Esawi and Dr Ulrike Wegst of the Engineering Design Centre, Engineering Department, Cambridge, Dr Paul Weaver of the Department of Aeronautical Engineering at the University of Bristol and Professor Michael Brown of the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge, UK.